mallowstreet Climate Charter

The Climate Charter was created at the mallowstreet Winchester Summit, held from 24th to 26th June, out of a sense among trustees that not enough is being done to combat global warming. The Charter commits individuals rather than pension funds or trustee boards.

This Charter is signed in our personal capacity and is not a reflection of the views or position of any Pension Fund.

We, the undersigned, agree with the UK government that there is a climate emergency. We also know that current actions and responses are insufficient to avoid catastrophic damage to our planet. This climate emergency will have a material financial impact on every Pension Fund and all our futures.

As Chairs, Investment Committee members, Pension Managers and Trustees, we pledge to recommend to our boards and investment committees:

  1. To ask, “What is the impact on the climate?” for each and every investment that is proposed.
  2. To demand that the carbon impact of every investment is measured and reported on by our managers. We will work actively and collaboratively to develop complete carbon measurement standards.
  3. To insist that each of our investment managers actively engage with corporate boards underlying our investments, so that every company develops and discloses both a complete measure of their carbon impact and a clear business plan to transition to a low carbon future.
  4. To review, and ultimately recommend the termination of, any investment manager that fails to support and actively engage in stewarding the transition to a low carbon future.

To join the Charter as a signatory, fill in your details here

Looks good!
Please enter your First Name
Looks good!
Please enter your Last Name
Looks good!
Please enter your email address
Looks good!
Please enter your Pension Funds
Looks good!
Please enter your Roles
Looks good!
Please Accept Privacy Policy

Existing signatories

Pension Fund(s)

1. Peter Elwin
Jp Morgan Cazenove 1987 Pension Scheme
Member-nominated Trustee Director

2. Paul Trickett
Santander UK Group Pension Scheme; Coal Pension Trustees Pension Scheme; Railways Pension Scheme
Chairman of Trustees; Trustee

3. Mark Tennant
Centrica plc Centrica Pension Scheme
Chairman of Trustees

4. Nigel Stapleton
National Grid plc National Grid UK Pension Scheme DB
Chairman of Trustees

5. David Adkins
Lloyds Bank Pension Schemes No 1 & No 2; HBOS Final Salary Scheme

6. Ross Reason
Stanhope Pension Fund

7. Karen Jones
AVIVA Staff Pension Scheme; Mineworkers' Pension Scheme
Pensions Secretary

8. Jonathan Glen
LGPS - Hampshire County Council Pension Fund

9. Rosie Lacey
FundDe La Rue plc Pension Scheme
Pensions Manager

10. Andrew Barker
The Telent Pension Office G.E.C. 1972 Plan

11. Meredith Gibson
Citi UK Pension Scheme; Clifford Chance Pension Scheme

12. Michael Clark
Cincinnati Machine Pension Plan

13. Mike Ward
FPPS (Friends' Provident now owned by Aviva)
Chair, Trustee Board and Member of Investment Committee

14. Nic Jones
Independent Consultant and Trustee

15. Mark Austin
Northern Trust Pension Plan

16. Terry Webster
Independent Consultant and Professional Trustee

17. Christopher Lawrence
University of East Anglia Staff Superannuation Scheme

18. Niraj Patwa

19. Michael Woodmore
Agility Pension Plan
Independent trustee

20. John Chilman
Railways Pension Scheme Nestlé UK Pension Fund
Chief Executive - RPMI Independent Trustee - Nestlé UK Pension Fund

21. John Jones
No Fund Listed
Pension Board Chair

22. Alexandra Loydon
St. James's Place Wealth Management
Divisional Director

23. Clarisse Simonek
Local Pension Partnership
Investment Strategy

24. Lois Tullo
Richview Residence Reserve Fund
Vice Chair

25. Tony Earnshaw
Independent trustee/chair of trustees

26. Jamie Goodfellow
National Grid
Governance Manager

27. Alan Rankin
National Grid UK Pension Scheme
Trustee, Chair of Governance Committee

28. David Gamble

29. Sally Bridgeland
Lloyds Bank Pension Schemes 1 & 2, HBOS, Local Pensions Partnership

30. Jonathan Hughes
National Grid
Risk Advisor

31. Nick Spencer
Investment Committee Member ESG Investment Advisor

32. Karen Shackleton
Advising four LGPS funds
Independent investment adviser

33. Rachel Neill
Smart Pension
Investment Manager

34. Duncan Willsher
Independent Professional Trustee at 20-20 Trustees

35. Bob Coppage
Pensions Management Institute
Commercial Director

36. Ian McKinlay
Lloyds Banking Group staff pension schemes
Chief Investment Officer

37. Dinesh Visavadia
Trustee and Chair

38. Kevin Clark
Independent Trustee

39. Nicholas Wheeler
Volvo Group UK Retirement Plan & various
Chairman of Trustees

40. Robert Gardner
St. James's Place Wealth Management
Director of Investments

41. Rob Schreur
National Grid UK Pension Scheme
Chief Investment Officer